#GetBritainWriting, with National Stationery Week

I’m sure you can’t have missed the fact that it’s National Stationery Week this week, and it’s inspired me to do something a bit different; I’ve been writing handwritten letters and cards to people as part of the campaign Get Britain Writing.

Example of handwriting with gold pen

We all love receiving things that aren’t bills or junk mail through the post but how often do we actually send something to someone else? It’s so exciting getting a card or letter, more than a text, email or tweet – who is it from? What news do they have? Plus, of course, there’s all the beautiful letter-writing stationery out there. I think I certainly take for granted that I’m able to send a quick text or Facebook message to my friends but actually, because it’s so easy, I don’t do it as much as I should. There’s something about the extra effort needed to write a letter – choosing the paper, adding a funny sticker or two – or sending a card or postcard with a great design, that makes it more fun to do and more special to receive.

Next, I have a trip to the post office with some nicely full envelopes and then I’ll be waiting eagerly to see who replies! I really hope they write back…

Who will you write to, this National Stationery Week? What news is better shared on paper compared to pixels?

Leave a Reply

